top of page
Search

Communicating Difference at Work March 22nd, 2021.

Can your place be considered multicultural? Why or why not?

I would say that definitely my place could be considered a multicultural environment to work at. I am one of the employees that brings diversity in my workplace. This because I come from a different background, English is not my first language, and there are also cultural differences that differ me from others. Another reason why my workplace can be considered multicultural is because besides me, there are other people from different cultures that work there, even though most of them were actually born or some raised in Canada. This multiculturalism in the workplace has created advantages and disadvantages over the time. Some of the disadvantages are related to misunderstandings or misinterpretations that are created as a result of the different ideas, which might also lead into conflict. There are also often times when people coming from some cultures may be less likely to let their voices be heard. Some benefits have to do with increased creativity and driving innovation because of the many viewpoints represented. A multicultural workplace can also be informative as you can get educated about others' cultures and languages. In addition, there is a better performance and higher productivity in a more diverse workplace. It is important for companies and organizations to provide an inclusive workplace and celebrate the diversity of their employees.


7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page